Banana Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins

These are light… Probably because there’s no flour in them and because for the most part I didn’t add sugar.  (Well… I sorta did if you know what I mean… wink, wink… cuz you know I like to add a little booze to my baked goods.)

These turned out a little spongy, and quite frankly I needed butter on mine.  I felt they were a little too light, but quite nice for snacking.  Just one though… not the whole pan.  They aren’t filling if you are looking for a “meal” type of muffin.

2016-03-05 16.02.16

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups oat flour (quick cooking or old fashioned oats)
  • 2 large very ripe bananas
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • ½ cup coconut oil (melted)
  • ¼ cup banana rum*
  • ½ teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  •  ¼ cup ground flaxseed meal
  • 1 ½ teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 cup blueberries (fresh or frozen, defrosted)

 

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Prepare muffin tins. You can either make smaller ones or you can make big ones. (I made 6 big ones and 5 small ones.)
  3. Make “oat flour” by putting he oats in a blender…. (I used my Bullet.).. and pulse for a few seconds to grind them up. Set aside
  4. Place all the WET ingredients in blender and blend: bananas, eggs, Greek yogurt, coconut oil, banana rum, vanilla extract. (*If not using banana rum, you might try a sugar of your choice like maple syrup, honey or coconut sugar.  I did not try these options, so I don’t know how they will turn out.)
  5. In large bowl, combine WET ingredients with DRY ingredients excluding the blueberries.
  6. Gently fold in Blueberries.
  7. Divide batter into muffin tin depending on how big and how many you want.
  8. Bake for 14-16 minutes, until the toothpick test comes out clean.
  9. Let the muffins cool before enjoying!

#Muffin #Easy #Snack #Flourless #RipeBananas #iBakeWithBooze

Leave a Reply

