Flourless Chunky Monkey Bars

Make no mistake… these are Decadent and Rich.2016-03-08 14.31.36

I would go so far as calling these sinfully delicious. So… if you’re looking for a guilty pleasure that is somewhat healthy, these are it!

Plus, they are super easy and quick to make so … Win, Win!

I cut my bars into super small 2-bite pieces because sometimes I just want a little something-something.  So, my small 8×8 pan yielded 20 bars which should last me at least a week since I tend to share them with family and friends.  And really…. I only want a few bites as I get bored easily with food and like variety.  I’m not the type to eat an entire plate of cookies… nor am I happy eating the same thing every day and that includes snacks.

I could see and imagine that these would be Amazing topped with ice cream (regular, coconut, almond, whatever your pleasure.)  I didn’t try that, but I’m just saying… I’m sure it would be Great.  🙂

Ingredients

  • 1 Large Egg
  • ½ cup Honey
  • 1 large ripe banana (smashed)
  • 1 cup Organic Salted Peanut Butter (chunky – you can use smooth if you prefer)
  • 1 oz Vanilla-infused Bourbon (I make my own by putting a vanilla bean inside a small Jim Beam bottle for at least 4 weeks) – – you can use 1 tsp of vanilla extract instead
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 1/4 cup Organic Ground Flaxseed
  • ½ teaspoon Salt (increase to 1 tsp if using unsalted PB)
  • 3/4 cup Mini Semi Sweet Chocolate Chips
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Prepare an 8×8-inch glass baking dish.
  3. In a large bowl, beat the egg.
  4. Add in the honey (I melt mine a little so it’s a bit more workable… like 6 seconds in the microwave), and mix well until combined.
  5. Mix in smashed banana and vanilla-infused bourbon (or vanilla extract.)
  6. Mix in PB.
  7. Mix in ground flaxseed, baking powder and salt until it’s all blended together.
  8. Stir in chocolate chips.
  9. Pour mixture into the prepared baking pan, and spread evenly.  (It’ll be thick.)
  10. Bake for 27 minutes. (They will be soft and golden on top with the edges looking done, but the center will look moist and not done.  This is how you want it to look. Do not Overbake.)
  11. Allow the bars to cool in the pan, on a wire rack at least one hour before cutting into bars.  (I set mine on my stove since I don’t have a wire rack that is sturdy enough to hold a glass pan.)
  12. Makes about 12-20 bars depending on how big you want to make them.  (I like mine small.)
Baking Notes – A toothpick inserted into the center will come out mostly clean.  A few crumbs on it is OK and what you want.
Thoughts for Next Time –
  • I think I’ll add some cinnamon to the recipe to give it some zip.
  • Or maybe even throw in a handful of flaked coconut.
  • Or maybe even try making this with cookie butter instead or almond butter or Nutella.
#Flourless #Easy #RipeBanana #iBakeWithBooze #Dessert #SinfullyDelicious

 

 

Leave a Reply

