Healthy-ish Pumpkin Banana Nut Bread

Wow! It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything.

I often experiment with recipes and ingredients… but I forget to write about them.

Today… I’m writing about it!

2015-12-19 13.12.25

 

Lazy to the core… I took a shortcut… I used my Bullet to mix the wet ingredients. We’ll see if it works out… maybe… maybe not.

Yield: 8×4 inch loaf pan and 6 medium muffins (Picture shows 5 because I had to sample one.)

Ingredients
½ cup olive oil
¾ cup honey
2 eggs
2 very ripe bananas, mashed
1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 teaspoons bourbon (optional, in my case it’s NOT)
¾ cups all-purpose flour
¾ cups whole wheat flour
¾ cups ground flaxseed
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
½ cup chopped pecans (or nut of your choice, optional)

Instructions
Preheat oven to 350 Fahrenheit. Prepare 8×4 loaf pan and medium sized 6-muffin pan. (I used Baking Pam.)
In your blender, mix the following: olive oil, honey, eggs, bananas, yogurt, pumpkin puree, bourbon and vanilla extract.
In a medium bowl, combine AP Flour, WW Flour and Ground Flaxseed, baking powder, baking soda and cinnamon. Gently mix.
Pour liquid/wet ingredients into dry ingredients, stirring gently until just combined. DO NOT OVERMIX.
Fold in nuts.
Pour the batter into pans.
Bake loaf pan for 55 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.
Bake muffin pan for 12-15 minutes (depends on your oven) or until toothpick comes out clean.

Results: Light and moist (sorry, I know some folks don’t like that word but it fits).  I rule this recipe a success.  WooHoo!

2015-12-19 13.13.15

 

 

 

 

 

 

#PumpkinBananaBread #iBakeWithBooze #Healthyish #NutsOptional

 

Leave a Reply

