Peach Spice Cake

2014-08-14 12.41.42 (2)So… I had some fresh peaches that were getting a bit too ripe… and I had a box of Spice Cake Mix.  Why not make a cake out of the 2?  So, I did!

If y’all know me… you know 2 things… 1) I rarely follow a recipe to the “T” and 2) I bake with booze.  This time was no exception. I eyeballed most of what I did to this creation.  So, if you try this, feel free to add or change this up to suit your tastes.  And while it doesn’t look all that great, it was super tasty.  The cake was moist, and the peaches held their form and flavor and didn’t turn to mush.

To start, I pulled out all my ingredients and tools, and put them on the kitchen island.

And then I started the oven… preheat to 325 since I was using a dark Bundt pan.

Ingredients for the Cake part:

  • 1 box of Spice Cake Mix
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 sugar free applesauce container (from the pack of 6) – I think it’s like 1/3 cup if I had to measure  (this was in place of the oil that the box said to use)
  • 1 tsp of vanilla
  • 2 tsp of spiced rum (I used Captains)

Instructions: Mix all the above together.  It’s not scientific or anything.  Set aside. You will pour this on top of the peaches.

Ingredients for the Topping part:

  • 3 large fresh ripe peaches, pealed and slice
  • 3/4 of a stick of butter
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp of cinnamon (I used Pampered Chef’s Cinnamon)
  • 1 Tbsp of flour (because I read somewhere that this helps with thickening up the “sauce”)
  • 1 tsp of lemon juice
  • 2 tsp of spiced rum (yup… Captains)

Instructions:

  • Melt the butter and brown sugar together… once melty… incorporate the flour and then the lemon juice. Stir constantly.
  • Turn down the heat and add the spiced rum and then the peaches … coating them with the sugar mixture.
  • Pour (as evenly as possible) into greased Bundt pan.
  • Pour the cake mixture (as evenly as possible) on top of the peaches.  I did a little jiggle with the pan to get the mix to settle and even out.
  • Put into a preheated 325 degree oven and bake for like 30-35 minutes depending on your oven.

Upon reflection and taste, I probably could have used a dash of salt to punch up the flavor in the peaches.  But this is “just cuz” I want to try something different next time.  Again… I rarely follow recipes and like to tweak.  Sometimes it works out, sometimes it doesn’t.  What matters is taste and whether or not the husband will eat it.  Actually… it matters whether I’ll eat it or not.  I’ve been known to throw out stuff after I’ve taken a bite even if the husband thinks it’s edible.  Edible or not… it needs to taste good.  And if it doesn’t taste good, why bother?!

Leave a Reply

